Read through some of the reviews by previous Sanctuary Stays guests.

“We had a great stay at Hibiscus and found the accommodation perfect for a week's stay with an almost 2 year-old. The pool was warm, apartment itself is lovely, and it is so close to everything - the beach, cafes, restaurants, the marina. We hope to come back soon!”

Courtney via AirBnb
Date Reviewed: 17 Aug 2017

“My girlfriend and I had a great stay! It's exactly like the photos and Karen's communication was excellent.
Just outside Port Douglas - so great if you have a car, otherwise there is a local bus for $5 into town. ”

Madelaine via AirBnb
Date Reviewed: 16 Aug 2017

'Highly Recommended Holiday House'
"We had a lovely holiday in Port Douglas in Feb 2017. the 8*Sand was definitely the best bit of our trip. The house itself is much bigger and much more than the picture showed on website. The location is amazing, close to beach, and a very nice pizza shop just 2 mins walk away. The coffee shop and supermarket are just around the corner. I have recommend 8*sand to all of my friend who plan to go Port Douglas. We will definitely visit again"

Ran Hao Melbourne, Australia via Trip Advisor
Date Reviewed: 30 Jul 2017

“Karen and Jeremy are tremendous hosts who were able to accommodate us on very short notice. The
apartment is in a great location for walking to shops and restaurants. We also were able to walk to the
wharf for our snorkeling trip in just a few minutes. Jeremy was very patient and explained the layout of
Port Douglas when we arrived. He also gave us some great food recommendations. We would definitely
recommend staying here!”

Rajas UK via Airbnb
Date Reviewed: 15 Jul 2017

What a great place! Better than expected from the photos and perfect for a family holiday. Highly recommend to anyone looking for a house close to the beach in a quiet gated community. Will be back for sure.

Craig Via Airbnb
Date Reviewed: 13 Jul 2017

“I would definitely recommend this place! Very central location, shops, restaurants and the marina are all a
short walk away. The pool is fantastic and great to be able to just pop down to it from your room. We
loved being able to cook breakfast every morning and eating on the balcony overlooking the pool. ”

Sara Australia via Airbnb
Date Reviewed: 07 Jan 2017

“Excellent right from the start. Karen made it a most welcoming feel. Her husband gave my wife some
great advice about local places to eat & drink. one minor hiccup with coffee machine but rectified ASAP
looking forward to heading back to Port Douglas again. So much to do & so little time. Will definitely stay
with Karen again & have recommended her to all of our friends. ”

Charlie Australia via Airbnb
Date Reviewed: 08 Nov 2016

“An absolutely lovely home. A beautiful place to stay for a week. Karen was helpful, friendly and gave
us lots of information about the local area and the home itself. Would certainly book through Karen
again if I'm planning a trip to the area. The villa was well appointed and beautifully presented. The pool
was perfect for cooling off on the hot days of our stay (every day!) and well used by all of us. The local
pizza place was within walking distance as was the coffee shop - both I would recommend for future guests to visit too. ”

Tracey Australia via Airbnb
Date Reviewed: 12 Oct 2016

“Karen's place is the perfect Port Douglas escape. Ridiculously close walking distance to everything you
could need - groceries, restaurants, shopping, beach, and even the marina for day trips on a boat to see
the Reef (an absolute must do!). On arrival we were given tons of helpful advice for where to eat and
things to do. The unit/apartment was nicely set-up and had plenty of space for two people (mother +
daughter). Loved the Balinese vibes. And the heated pool. Overall, couldn't ask for better
accommodations.”

Sophie US via Airbnb
Date Reviewed: 18 Sep 2016

“We were welcomed by Karen's husband who showed us into the property and gave us lots of
recommendations about where to go in Port Douglas and good places to eat / drink. Really lovely people
who were keen to ensure that we got the most out of our stay. The apartment itself was perfect. Just what
we needed and right in the centre so super easy to get places. I can highly recommend staying here! ”

Catriona New Zealand via Airbnb
Date Reviewed: 13 Sep 2016

“Everything was wonderful! Karen and her husband were great on communication and available by phone,
so it was very easy. The location is wonderful in PD and the apartment itself is beautiful. Would stay again
without a doubt! ”

Mackenzie Australia via Airbnb
Date Reviewed: 20 Jul 2016

“Karen was amazing and made sure that our arrival and time spent in Port Douglas was easy. The
apartment was as it looked in the photos and was absolutely perfect. It was located in such a great spot
that we could walk everywhere - the beach and main street were only a block away. If we ever head back
to Port Douglas we will stay here again.”

Nicole Australia via Airbnb
Date Reviewed: 16 Jul 2016

“The photos do not do this property justice! It is a gorgeous home with beautiful, thoughtful touches
throughout. Karen and Jez were lovely, welcoming and helpful over the stay - it really was perfect and
made for a fabulously easy and enjoyable holiday. Thank you! ”

Kate New Zealand via Airbnb
Date Reviewed: 02 Jul 2016

“Karen & Jeremy were fantastic. They communicated very well prior to our arrival and Jeremy met us at
the accommodation when we arrived and shared his local knowledge with us. The accommodation was
perfect for us as a family of 4 adults and 2 kids. The rooms were very clean, good air-conditioning, great
black out shades and, and plenty of room. The balcony was certainly our favorite place. The pool was also
a wonderful hit as it was nice and warm with fantastic floating bean bags. We would certainly recommend
this for a relaxing getaway with easy access into the center of Port Douglas. ”

Anna Australia via Airbnb
Date Reviewed: 26 Jun 2016

“Great house and great location. We we're very happy with our stay. The host Karen was very welcoming
and helpful. Highly recommend. ”

Chriss Canada via Airbnb
Date Reviewed: 18 Jun 2016

Submit Your Review

If you would like to submit a review, please enter your information below.